ACM MobiArch 2007 Workshop Program

In Conjunction with ACM SIGCOMM 2007

August 27, 2007, Kyoto International Conference Center, Kyoto, Japan

Sponsored by ACM SIGCOMM and In Cooperation with ACM SIGMOBILE


9:00 - 9:10 Welcome messages and introduction (Slides): Xiaoming Fu

9:10 - 10:05 Session "Mobility Architectures", chair: Rui Aguiar

Mobility as an Integrated Service Through the Use of Naming (Paper) (Slides)
Randall Atkinson (Extreme Networks, USA); Saleem Bhatti (University of St Andrews, United Kingdom); Stephen Hailes (University College London, United Kingdom)
An Architecture for Seamless Mobility in Spontaneous Wireless Mesh Networks (Paper) (Slides)
Franck Rousseau (IMAG, France); Martin Heusse (LSR IMAG, France); Yan Grunenberger (LSR Laboratory, France); Vincent Untz (LSR-IMAG Laboratory, France); Eryk Schiller (INPG - Institut National Politechnique, France); Paul Starzetz (LSR, France); Fabrice Theoleyre (INP Grenoble, France); Olivier Alphand (INP Grenoble, France); Andrzej Duda (INP Grenoble, LIG Laboratory, France)
A Framework for Evolutionary Networking (Paper) (Slides)
Gautam Gupta (Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India); S.v. Raghavan (Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, Chennai, India)

10:05 - 11:00 Keynote speech 1: Victor Bahl, Microsoft Research (USA): Are Self Managing Networks in our Future?  (Slides)

11:15 - 12:10 Session "Locator/Identifier Separation", chair: Xiaoming Fu
Performance of Host Identity Protocol on Lightweight Hardware (Paper) (Slides)
Andrey Khurri (HIIT, Finland); Ekaterina Vorobyeva (HIIT, Finland); Andrei Gurtov (Helsinki Institute for Information Technology, Finland)
Evaluating the Benefits of the Locator/Identifier Separation (Paper) (Slides)
Bruno Quoitin (Universite Catholique de Louvain, Belgium); Luigi Iannone (Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium); Cédric de Launois (Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium); Olivier Bonaventure (Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium)
Embedding Identity in Mobile Environments (Paper) (Slides)
Rui Aguiar (Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal); Alfredo Matos (Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal); Susana Sargento (Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal, Portugal)

13:15 - 13:50 Session "Delay Tolerant Networks", chair: Sue Moon

Distributed Community Detection in Delay Tolerant Networks (Paper) (Slides)
Pan Hui (Univeristy of Cambridge, United Kingdom); Eiko Yoneki (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom); Shu-Yan Chan (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom); Jon Crowcroft (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
Redundancy and Distributed Caching in Mobile DTNs (Paper) (Slides)
Mikko Pitkanen (Helsinki Institute of Physics, Finland); Joerg Ott (Helsinki University of Technology, Finland)

13:55 - 14:50 Keynote speech 2: Krishan K. Sabnani, Bell Labs (USA): Key Technologies and Architectures for the Next-Generation Mobile Networks (Slides)

15:05 - 16:00 Panel session: Stagnation of deployment of 4G and beyond?

Chair: Ryuji Wakikawa (Keio University, JP)
           Lars Eggert (Nokia Research Center, FI) (Slides)
           Yoshiro Ohba (Toshiba Research, US) (Slides)
           Joerg Ott (Helsinki University of Technology, FI) (Slides)
           K. K. Ramakrishnan (AT&T Labs, US) (Slides)
           Jun Takei (Intel Corporation, JP) (Slides)

16:05 - 17:00 Session "Handover, Multihoming and Data Management", chair: Katherine Guo

Kerberized Handover Keying: A Media-Independent Handover Key Management Architecture (Paper) (Slides)  
Yoshihiro Ohba (TARI, USA); Subir Das (Telcordia Technologies, USA); Ashutosh Dutta (Telcordia Technologies, USA)
A Policy Management Framework for Flow Distribution on Multihomed End Nodes (Paper) (Slides)
Koshiro Mitsuya (Keio University, Japan); Romain Kuntz (Louis Pasteur University, France); Shinta Sugimoto (Keio University, Japan); Ryuji Wakikawa (Keio University, Japan); Jun Murai (Keio University, Japan)
The Case for a Unified Extensible Data-centric Mobility Infrastructure (Paper) (Slides)
Yun Mao (University of Pennsylvania, USA); Boon Thau Loo (University of Pennsylvania, USA); Zachary Ives (University of Pennsylvania, USA);  Jonathan Smith (University of Pennsylvania, USA)